Helena Duggan

Hear how Helena Duggan created the 'Perfect' world out of some antique glasses and her home town in Ireland
‘What is Perfect?’ with Helena Duggan

About The Author:

Helena Duggan is a children’s author, graphic designer and illustrator from Kilkenny, a medieval town in Ireland, which was the inspiration for A Place Called Perfect. After being named the ‘Waterstones Children’s Book of the Month’ in August 2017, A Place Called Perfect was also shortlisted for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize 2018 and featured in Tom Fletcher’s WHSmith Book Club in 2017.

About The Book:

They’ve got their eyes on you: a quirky, creepy and unforgettable adventure, perfect for fans of Roald Dahl, Neil Gaiman and Tim Burton.

Violet hates living in Perfect. Why does everyone have to wear special glasses to stop them going blind? What are the strange noises in the night and why is Mum acting so weird? Then Dad disappears and Violet is determined to uncover the truth with the help of the mysterious Boy. But returning normality to Perfect is a battle they never imagined…

Praise for ‘A Place Called Perfect’:

‘One of those books that you think about when you’re not reading it and can’t wait to find out what happens next.’ – Tom Fletcher
‘A weird and wonderful tale about a town where nothing is at it seems.’ -The Scotsman
‘A creepy, magical tale of bravery and self-belief’. -The Sunday Express
‘A creepy adventure story full of twists and turns that will hook you in from the start and keep you guessing into the final pages.’ – Scoop Magazine

A Place Called Perfect

Join Authorfy

Are you new to Authorfy? Create an account in 60 seconds to gain instant, unlimited and FREE access to all of our masterclass content. Already a member of the Authorfy Army? Just sign in to access our author masterclasses.

Join Authorfy Sign In

Publishing Partners

bloomsbury logoSimon & Schuster LogoWalker LogoUsborne LogoHachette ChildrensAndersen Press LogoMacmillan LogoDK LogoKnights OfNosy CrowTemplarQuarto KidsBarrington Stoke LogoEgmontFaber and FaberHarperCollinsOUPpenguinrandomhouseStripesPiccadilly Press