Sophie Anderson

Learn how Sophie takes inspiration from Russian folktales to create her own stories full of magic, mystery and wonder
Reimagining Fairytales with Sophie Anderson

About The Author:

Sophie Anderson grew up in Swansea, studied at Liverpool University, and has worked as a geologist and science teacher. She wrote textbooks until characters from Slavic folklore began appearing in her work. Sophie has an international family and loves to write stories inspired by different folklores and cultures. Now living in the Lake District with her husband, Sophie enjoys the freedom of home schooling her three children, fell walking, canoeing, and daydreaming. ‘The House With Chicken Legs’ is Sophie’s first book and it was released to critical acclaim and became the ‘Waterstones Children’s Book of the Month’.

About The Book:

Marinka dreams of a normal life, where her house stays still long enough for her to make friends. But her house has chicken legs and moves on without warning. The only people Marinka meets are dead; they disappear when her grandmother, Baba Yaga, guides them through The Gate. Marinka wants to change her destiny, but her house has other ideas… A story about finding your own destiny, even when your future seems written in the stars, perfect for fans of Kiran Millwood Hargrave, Katherine Rundell and Neil Gaiman. The book features atmospheric black and white interior illustrations by Elisa Paganelli and cover artwork by Melissa Castrillón.

Praise for ‘The House With Chicken Legs’:

‘Filled with warmth and spun from gossamer threads of magic. I loved it!’ – Peter Bunzl, author of ‘Cogheart’
‘[A] delicious, exquisite tale’ – Emma Carroll, author of ‘Letters From The Lighthouse’
‘A spellbinding tale, beautifully told and full of heart. Pure magic.’ – Claire Fayers, author of ‘The Accidental Pirates’

The House With Chicken Legs

Join Authorfy

Are you new to Authorfy? Create an account in 60 seconds to gain instant, unlimited and FREE access to all of our masterclass content. Already a member of the Authorfy Army? Just sign in to access our author masterclasses.

Join Authorfy Sign In

Publishing Partners

bloomsbury logoSimon & Schuster LogoWalker LogoUsborne LogoHachette ChildrensAndersen Press LogoMacmillan LogoDK LogoKnights OfNosy CrowTemplarQuarto KidsBarrington Stoke LogoEgmontFaber and FaberHarperCollinsOUPpenguinrandomhouseStripesPiccadilly Press